Texts and resources - Investigating Science - Preliminary - LibGuides at Bradfield Senior College

Bradfield links

NESA Investigating Science Stage 6 Syllabus
This site includes past HSC exam papers and the subject syllabus

Investigating science in focus : Year 11 by Silvia Rudmann
Call Number: 507.6/INVE. Published 2017
This textbook is aligned to the NSW Investigating Science Syllabus. It features a student-centred focus, with an embedded STEM approach, and the flexible approach to depth studies enables teachers to engage with students’ areas of interest. Content covered includes Working Scientifically, Preparing for a Depth Study, Cause and effect, Observing, Inferences and Generalisations, Scientific models, Theories and Laws.

View ebook - Investigating science in focus : Year 11
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
Requires TAFE NSW username and password

NESA : Investigating science. Exam workbook. 2019 Higher School Certificate
Call Number: 507.6/INVE Published 2020
NESA workbooks contain past HSC exam papers with the best Band 6 student answers and marker feedback.

Clickview - Science Collection
This is a collection of TV and specialised programs related to the study of the HSC Investigating Science.
more...less...
To view videos Bradfield students enter their user.name@studytafensw.edu.au and password
Scientific method : how it works [ClickView 16min]
Scientific methodology is a cornerstone of modern science. This video introduces scientific methodology by describing its development and purpose. Then, using the basic question 'Do plants need light to grow?', the viewer is given a detailed illustration of how scientific methodology is applied.
more...less...
To view videos Bradfield students enter their user.name@studytafensw.edu.au and password
Scientific problem solving [ClickView 16min]
This programme takes a student through the steps for solving a problem scientifically: define or state the problem, research the problem, form a hypothesis, test the hypothesis, record and analyse the data, and state a conclusion.
more...less...
To view videos Bradfield students enter their user.name@studytafensw.edu.au and password

Science History Institute : Biography
The biographies page of the Science History Institute's site provides background information on the people behind some of science's most important milestones.
United Nations : Climate reports
Key reports on climate impacts and solutions from the United Nations.
Wikipedia : Science
he entry on science covering its history, the branches of science, research methods, and the philosophy of science.
ABC News : Science
The ABC gateway page to science related news and links to its key science programs such as The Science Show podcast and Catalyst on iview.

JoVE - Science database This link opens in a new window
JoVE (The Journal of Visualized Experiments) publishes peer-reviewed scientific video protocols to accelerate biological, medical, chemical and physical research.
Requires TAFE NSW username and password
Science Online - database This link opens in a new window
Science Online presents a broad range of scientific disciplines including * Chemistry * Computer Science * Earth Science * Environmental Science * Marine Science * Mathematics * Physics * Space & Astronomy * Weather & Climate - through extensive essays, diagrams, biographies, experiments, definitions, images, and videos and animations.
Login requires TAFE NSW username and password

EBSCOhost - database This link opens in a new window
Offers a variety of full text and popular databases that can be cross-searched or searched separately.

The Window of Opportunity: Logic and Chance in Becquerel's Discovery of Radioactivity (2000). Physics in Perspective. By Nahum S. Kipnis
- This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar
This search engine covers a range of scholarly literature. Its coverage includes articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, and universities.
Louis Pasteur : Between myth and reality