Texts and resources - Legal Studies - HSC - LibGuides at Bradfield Senior College

Bradfield links

NESA Legal Studies Stage 6 Syllabus
This site includes past HSC exam papers and the subject syllabus

Cambridge legal studies stage 6 Year 12 by Paul Milgate
Call Number: 349.94/CAMB. 5th ed. Published 2020
This text comprehensively covers the requirements of the Stage 6 Legal Studies syllabus in NSW. It combines the latest information on aspects of the in an accessible resource package for HSC students. Content includes parts on crime, human rights, and the family.

Excel HSC legal studies by Belinda Brassil
Call Number: 349.94076/BARL Published 2011
This guide provides dot style points, key terms and investigations based on the syllabus. It also includes sample Year 12 papers and exam questions.

NESA Legal Studies 2020 Higher School Certificate exam workbook
Call Number: STUDY 349.94076/LEGA 2020 Published 2021
NESA workbooks contain past HSC exam papers with the best Band 6 student answers and marker feedback.

ATAR Notes : Year 12 Legal Studies complete course notes 2020-2022
Call Number: STUDY 349.94/POPP 2020 Published 2020
Presented in point form, ATAR notes is an excellent exam revision guide. This edition includes contents on recent law reforms, statistics, media articles, and contemporary case studies. It covers crime, human rights, consumers, family, and world order.

Australian master family law guide
- This link opens in a new window
This guide provides reference to family law in Australia. It contains concise and practical information on the family law system, children, property, child support, court processes, evidence and costs. With commentary on developments in family law legislation and cases. It is also updated to include commentary on the Federal Circuit Court of Australia.
The law handbook: your practical guide to the law in NSW by Redfern Legal Centre
Call Number: 349.944/LAWH
The Law handbook is the single most important plain English guide to the law in NSW. It provides a practical guide to 40 legal topics – legal issues which affect people in their everyday lives.

HSC Hub : Legal studies - success in the written examination
The NSW Government's support site with tips for studying and completing the written examination.
State Library New South Wales : HSC Legal Studies
A collection of resources provided for students studying HSC Legal Studies. This site includes a research guide and access to online legislation. Some of the resources may require membership of the State Library - this usually takes 1 day and can be done online.
Art of smart : Legal Studies resources
This group of resources includes crime cases for HSC legal studies, how to write a HSC Legal Studies essay scaffold, and how to makes extended responses band 6 material.

The Castle (film, 1997) [Clickview Online, 81 mins]
- This link opens in a new window
Based upon the saying "a man's home is his castle" and expanded into an 84 minute film, The Castle follows the Kerrigan family as they face a legal battle to keep their home from being compulsorily acquired by the local international airport. The publishers of this film describe it as taking "the harsh Australian outback, the rugged characters of the ANZAC legend, the spirit of Banjo Patterson and ignoring them in favour of a greyhound racing, tow truck driver who never meant to be a hero."
Clickview online - Legal Studies [Clickview Online]
This is a collection of TV and specialised programs related to the study of the Legal Studies.
Expert evidence [Clickview Online, 12 episodes and 10 case studies, each 2 to 12 mins]
- This link opens in a new window
Produced by Victoria University, this series of short episodes provides an overview of the legal process of a court case. Contents includes role of the expert, credibility and experience, expert witness preparation, presenting reports and opinions, mistakes and challenges, and miscarriages of justice.

AustLIIAustralasian Legal Information Institute
Operated by the UTS and UNSW Faculties of Law and with over four million documents, this database provides access to Australian legal material. The publisher describes the site as containing "primary legal materials (legislation, treaties and decisions of courts and tribunals); and secondary legal materials created by public bodies for purposes of public access (law reform and royal commission reports for example) and a substantial collection of law journals".

Hot topics - Legal resources This link opens in a new window
Hot topics is a plain language series about recent changes and current debates in the law, written by legal experts. All issues include case studies and sources of further information.

EBSCOhost - database This link opens in a new window
Offers a variety of full text and popular databases that can be cross-searched or searched separately.

Click the refresh on the browser to view the feed.

Human trafficking

Family law

Criminal law

On the shelf at 349.94

Scan to view this guide on your phone.