The Handmaids Tale by Margaret Atwood:Text and analysis

Offred is a Handmaid in the service of the Republic of Gilead. She has only one function, to breed. If she deviates, she will, like dissenters, be hanged at the wall or sent out to die slowly of radiation sickness. But even the state cannot obliterate desire.

This comprehensive guide includes a description of the text, a critical analysis of themes, narrative techniques, characterisation, language and imagery.

Margaret Atwood's novels cover themes of identity and wilderness, the representation of women, history and narration. This text includes an analysis of The Handmaid's Tale.

This volume contains easily accessible and context-rich discussions on The Handmaids Tale. It includes a summary of the plot, characters, themes, and style.

This concise reading guide includes a short plot summary, character studies, and key themes and symbols.

These critical essays on THe Handmaid's Tale include a chronology, bibliography, and notes on the contributors and an introductory essay by noted literary scholar Harold Bloom.

This title contains a collection of short essays on Margaret Attwood's novel. Essays include nature and nurture in dystopia, “Trust Me” : reading the romance plot, dystopia and the paradoxes of power, and resistance through narrating.

Dystopia, as a genre, reflects our greatest fears of what the future might bring. This book examines the popularity of the dystopian genre in literature and film. It connects contemporary manifestations of dystopia to cultural trends and the implications of technological and social changes on the individual and society as a whole.