LibGuides: Good night and good luck: Text and analysis

Bradfield links

Library links

Education links

NESA English advanced 2020 HSC exam pack
This site includes past HSC exam papers and the subject syllabus

DVDs and Books and downloadable chapters

Good night, and good luck by George Clooney
Call Number: DVD 791.436582/HEWE Published 2004
Directed by George Clooney, This film provides a provocative, principled and richly detailed snapshot of the moment in history in which a major American television news personality named Edward Murrow used the facts to take on the power of Senator Joe McCarthy during his anti-communist 'witch-hunts'.

Watch film on Clickview - Good night, and good luck - Bradfield College only. TAFE NSW email address, choose Bradfield, then username and password

Excel Year 12 advanced English
Call Number: A820.76/HEWE Published 2019
This useful HSC syllabus focused guide covers the English Advanced modules of texts and human experiences, textual conversations, critical study of literature, and the craft of writing.

View document now - Critical study of literature : Good night, and good luck [PDF] - Bradfield College only.
- This link opens in a new window

ATAR notes : Genre analysis guide: How to analyse films by Beatrice Tekiko
Call Number: 791.4301 Published 2019
This informative guide covers the features of a film, how to watch, annotate and analyse films, and advise for essay writing with a sample essay on Billy Elliot.

View document now - Section 3. How to analyse films [PDF] - Bradfield College only
- This link opens in a new window

Living through the Red Scare
Call Number: 973.92/LIVI Published 2006
This compilation of essays and articles provides useful primary and secondary source material on anti-communist activities in the United States of American during the Twentieth Century.

View document now - Chapter 3. The cultural effects of the Red Scare [PDF] - Bradfield College only.
- This link opens in a new window

Film reviews

Websites

Picture quotes : Edward R. Murrow
Famous quotes by the newsman Edward R. Murrow.
NSW Government - Education : Year 12 – Module B – Critical study of literature
This NSW Government website provides support mateial for the HSC critical sudy of literature module B, on Good night, and good luck. It includes a sample assessment and a resource pack with an analysis of the film, characterisations, and themes and values.
Crimson Academies Dux College : Good Night, and Good Luck – Study Guide
A useful HSC study guide on the film.

Clickview Video streaming

Good Night, and Good Luck [ClickView. 1hr 29min]
- This link opens in a new window
When Senator Joseph McCarthy begins his campaign to root out Communists in America, CBS News presenter, Edward R. Murrow dedicates himself to exposing the atrocities being committed by McCarthy's Senate "investigation". This film includes interactive questions.
Cold War : Reds 1947-1953 [ClickView 48min]
- This link opens in a new window
This episode of 'The Cold War' examines the United States, where fear of Communism led to the Red-baiting of the McCarthy era. It details the loyalty oaths and investigations by the House Committee Un-American Activities.
The Real American: Joe McCarthy [ClickView 44min]
- This link opens in a new window
This documentary examines the rise and fall of the man behind McCathyism, a term now synonymous with political witch hunts.
Oliver Stone : untold history of the US. Eisenhower, The Bomb and The Third World [ClickView 58min]
- This link opens in a new window
Oliver Stone's documentary illustrates the fall of the Iron Curtain, and the Red Scare that prompts the rise of Joseph McCarthy, the House Un-American Activities Committee and the FBI.
Love, hate and propaganda : The Cold War. In the shadow of fear [ClickView 43min]
- This link opens in a new window
Covering the start of the Cold War and the use of propaganda as a cultural weapon - this episode examines the rise of Communist governments of post-WW2 Europe with a focus on elections in Italy. The second half looks at the reaction in America and the use of propaganda and the McCarthy Communist witch hunts.

Online videos

Ignite HSC : Good night, and good luck
An engaging online series with Jono from Ignite HSC analysing the film Good night, and good luck. Aspects covered include; deconstruction of key scenes, important concepts and formal elements of the film and an exploration of the context of the 'Red Scare' in 1950s America.
Context [YouTube, 11mins]
Key themes [YouTube, 7min]
Analysis. Part 1 [YouTube, 8mins]
Analysis. Part 2 [YouTube, 7mins]
Form [YouTube, 11mins]
Interview with George Clooney on "Good Night and Good Luck;" (Broadcast Oct. 14, 2005). [YouTube 40min]
George Clooney talks about various apects of his film, including the background story of Edward R. Murrow and Joseph McCarthy, and the political context in which the film was made and released.
Duck And Cover : Bert The Turtle (1951). [YouTube 9min]]
Duck and Cover staring Bert the Turtle is a 1951 Civil Defense Film.
Retro Report : The Cold War on TV: Joseph McCarthy vs. Edward R. Murrow [YouTube 8min]
During the Cold War, Joe McCarthy’s anti-communist crusade became a media sensation. But he met his match in reporter Edward R. Murrow who was sharply critical of him.
The American adventure. Responsibilities of American citizenship [YouTube 10min]
Presented by the theologian Dr. Clifton L. Ganus. Jr., this 1950s propaganda film examines the "Responsibilities of American citizenship" and what it means to not to be a socialist and warns of the presence of communist fifth columnist determined to destroy the property rights of American citizens.
Freedom and you! When the Communists take over America! [YouTube 56min]
This 1957 Anti Communist film was perhaps the best known anti-communist movie produced during the Cold War. It suggests the Soviet Union built a 'fake' American town in order to train agents to infiltrate an actual American town. It was produced and presented by the Directorate for Armed Forces Information and Education, United States Department of Defense.
TED-Ed : What is McCarthyism? And how did it happen? [YouTube 5min]
This animated short film explains McCarthyism.