LibGuides: Cosi by Louis Nowra: Australia's experience

Library links

Related subject guides

NSW Board of studies : Cosi
This site includes past HSC exam papers, the subject syllabus and notes from the marking centre.

Red haze: Australians & New Zealanders in Vietnam by Leon Davidson
Call Number: 959.7043/DAVI. Published 2006

This book describes the experience of service men and women during the Vietnam conflict. It explains how upon returning to Australia and New Zealand they faced media coverage and widespread public protests and became the scapegoats for an unpopular war.

PDF currently not available - Red haze. Chapter 7: One side right, one side wrong [PDF] - Bradfield College only.

Front line dispatches : Australians at war, 1845-1972
Call Number: 994/FRON. Published 1988

With maps and photographs, this title provides useful summary of the conflicts in which Australians have taken part. From early colonial conflicts to Australia's involvement in the Vietnam war.

PDF currently not available - Front line dispatches. Chapter. Vietnam : the living-room war [PDF] - Bradfield College only.

Australia and the Vietnam War
Publication Date: 2006

A student team of reporters explores Australia's involvement in the Vietnam war. They examine the reasons for the war, the public's initial reaction, the bloody conflict, a changing in public mood and the aftermath and legacies of the war. This program includes teaching notes and supporting documents. [32 minutes]

Australians in Vietnam
Publication Date: 1990

This program looks at Australia's involvement in and reaction to, the war in Vietnam. By 1968, as Australian forces rose to over 8,000, opposition to conscription led to huge public protests. Australian forces withdrew in 1972, with a ceasefire signed in 1973. [35 minutes]

Australia and the Vietnam War
This comprehensive site created by the Commonwealth Dept. of Veterans Affairs provides a useful summary of Australia’s involvement in the Vietnam conflict. It includes sections on the battles, conscription, public opinion and protests, and the war's aftermath. There are primary source documents with newspapers from the period and audio and video interviews with veterans.
Australian War Memorial: Vietnam 1962-75
This site provides a concise overview of Australia's involvement in the Vietnam war.

Trove digitized Australian newspapers : Vietnam War protests
The National Library of Australia hold a collection of digitized newspapers and magazines from the period of the Vietnam war.

On the shelf at 959.7043